[Comp.Sci.Dept, Utrecht] Note from archiver<at>cs.uu.nl: This page is part of a big collection of Usenet postings, archived here for your convenience. For matters concerning the content of this page, please contact its author(s); use the source, if all else fails. For matters concerning the archive as a whole, please refer to the archive description or contact the archiver.

Subject: s.c.italian FAQ (SUMMARY) [0/8]

This article was archived around: 2 Feb 1998 08:40:51 GMT

All FAQs in Directory: cultures/italian
All FAQs posted in: soc.culture.italian, it.cultura, it.aiuto, it.notizie
Source: Usenet Version


=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=- soc.culture.italian FAQ =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Ciao. This monthly posting of frequently asked questions (FAQ), with answers, is intended to answer in advance questions that are often asked on the newsgroup soc.culture.italian (s.c.i for short) or simply provide you with some general information about s.c.i and Italy. Most of the answers are based on postings from the net on these subjects, or have been written by netters. Use them at your own risk. As with any newsgroup, it is best to read this file before posting anything on s.c.i. This rarely happens, so the other purpose of the FAQ is to function as a reference for easy consultation. Sections are in separate postings, marked by '=====SX' (where X is a number). Open questions are marked by '==QX.Y' (where X is the section and Y is the question number. Use '==' or '=S' or '=Q' as search string). Filtering the lines containing '==' will provide you with a complete table of contents (with '==' as indentation). Many FAQs, including this one, are available by anonymous ftp from the archive site rtfm.mit.edu in the directory: pub/usenet/news.answers. This FAQ is archived as: cultures/italian/summary (... misc). This FAQ is also available by gopher. The address is spfo.unibo.it. Look under the menu Virtual Italy. There is also a version of this FAQ available as hypertext (WWW). The URL is http://www.cis.ohio-state.edu/hypertext/faq/usenet/SCItalian-faq/top.html If you want to add or change any information in this FAQ, there are separate editors for the 8 parts. Here is a list with the names. Sending your contribution to the right person will speed up the process. Introduction Gianluigi Sartori <gg@angel.stanford.edu> Italy and Internet Paolo Fiorini <fiorini@telerobotics.jpl.nasa.gov> Italians in a foreign land Gianluigi Sartori <gg@angel.stanford.edu> Italian radio and TV Gianluigi Sartori <gg@angel.stanford.edu> Academics Gianluigi Sartori <gg@angel.stanford.edu> Arts and Tourism Gianluigi Sartori <gg@angel.stanford.edu> Customs and Standards Gianluigi Sartori <gg@angel.stanford.edu> Misc Gianluigi Sartori <gg@angel.stanford.edu> Enjoy, Gianluigi Sartori <gg@angel.stanford.edu> (maintainer) P.S. If you want to circulate this file, please do so, just do not pretend that you wrote it, and include the names of the contributors. =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=- SUMMARY of soc.culture.italian FAQ =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=- 0 SUMMARY and CONTRIBUTORS (this file) 1 INTRODUCTION TO S.C.ITALIAN 2. ITALY AND INTERNET 3. ITALIANS IN A FOREIGN LAND 4. ITALIAN RADIO AND TV 5. ACADEMICS 6. ARTS AND TOURISM 7. CUSTOMS AND STANDARDS 8. MISC =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=- This is the list of the CONTRIBUTORS to the FAQ =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=- Alberto Malinverno <alberto@sdr.slb.com> Alberto Maurizio Chavan <amchavan@eso.org> Alessandro Berni <Alessandro.Berni@iunet.it> Alessandro Mattacchini <amattak@calvin.sfc.lehigh.edu> Alessio Bragadini <abragad@di.unipi.it> Alex Conconi <conconi@dsi.unimi.it> Andrea Abate <geronimo@cs.pitt.edu> Andrea Rizzoli <andrea@styx.cbr.dwr.csiro.au> Anna Appel <aappel@crl.com> Arrigo Triulzi <a.triulzi@imperial.ac.uk> Barbara Di Eugenio <dieugeni@linc.cis.upenn.edu> Barbara Pennacchi <bpennacc@nyx.cs.du.edu> Bruno Di Stefano <stefano@ecf.toronto.edu> Carlo Bolchini <carlo@ghost.dsi.unimi.it> Caterina Bonino <Caterina.Bonino@i2u.it> Claudio Calvelli <bq979@cleveland.freenet.edu> Cristina Perissinotto <mcpg1309@uxa.cso.uiuc.edu> Denis Sbragion <sbragion@ghost.sm.dsi.unimi.it> Domenico Giunta <DGIUNTA@vmprofs.estec.esa.nl> Elisa Prato <elisa@math.princeton.edu> Elizabeth Buie <ebuie@csc.com> Fabio Tironi <fabio.tironi@altair.it> Filippo Menczer <fil@cs.ucsd.edu> Francesco Ruggiero <ruggiero@crs4.it> Furio Ercolessi <furio@tsmi19.sissa.it> Gian Uberto Lauri <saint@paola.dei.unipd.it> Gianni Gelato <gelato@ps.msm.cern.ch> Giorgio Chinnici <giorgio.chinnici@galactica.it> Giuseppe Lancia <gl1c+@andrew.cmu.edu> Jacopo Andreose <jacopo@pons.uio.no> Joe Moss <joe@morton.rain.com> Lanfranco Albani <albani@cadlab.sublink.org> Lavinia Egidi <Lavinia.Egidi@prg.ox.ac.uk> Luca De Nardo <luca.de.nardo@altair.it> Luca Gentili <lucag@sirio.cineca.it> Luca Tognoli <tognoli@cs.unibo.it> Lucia Dettori <lucia@cfm.brown.edu> Lucio Picci <lpicci@weber.ucsd.edu> Luigi M Bianchi <lbianchi@sol.yorku.ca> Luigi Semenzato <luigi@paris.CS.Berkeley.EDU> Marco Isopi <isopi@paris.CS.Berkeley.EDU> Marcello Formica <formica@cli.di.unipi.it> Markus Senoner <senonm@ghost.sm.dsi.unimi.it> Massimo Boninsegni <massimob@ncsa.uiuc.edu> Massimo Fabbri <ghe1064@cdc835.cdc.polimi.it> Massimo Poesio <poesio@cs.rochester.edu> Massimo Marchi <marchi@gold.cchem.berkeley.edu> Maurizio Codogno <mau@beatles.cselt.it> Maurizio Oliva <mo5027@u.cc.utah.edu> Maurizio Vitale <foobar@dist.unige.it> Mauro Orlandini <orlandini@botes1.bo.cnr.it> Meloria Meschi <ecrbg@csv.warwick.ac.uk> Michael Khaw <khaw@parcplace.com> Michele Limon <LIMON@celest.lbl.gov> Michele Michelotto <michelot@vxcern.cern.ch> Monica Paolini <paolini@cogsci.UCSD.EDU> Nancy Rains <rains@znet.com> Nicola Marzari <nm10007@cus.cam.ac.uk> Ottavio G. Rizzo <otto@gauss.math.brown.edu> Paolo Amoroso <amoroso@dsi.unimi.it> Paolo Bellomo <topino@tamop.physics.gatech.edu> Paolo Bellutta <bellutta@bio.irst.it> Paolo Palezzato <palezzat@ICSI.Berkeley.EDU> Pierfrancesco La Mura <plamura@leland.Stanford.EDU> Pierluigi Miraglia <pmiragli@magnus.acs.ohio-state.edu> Pietro Manzoni <manzoni@ipmel2.elet.polimi.it> Renato Roncaglia <roncagli@ind.physics.indiana.edu> Riccardo Scateni <Riccardo.Scateni@crs4.it> Riccardo Sabbatini <sabba@poseidon.csr.unibo.it> Roberto Boscariol <bosca@unive.it> Roberto Burioni <rburioni@scripps.edu> Roberto Celi <celi@eng.umd.edu Romano Giannetti <romano@sirio.iet.unipi.it> Sean Carlos <sean@accint.accint.com> Stefano Longano <stefano@itnnext4.cineca.it> Suzie Radosic <radosic@ictp.trieste.it> Ugo Cei <ugo@chicco.sea.sublink.org> Ugo Piomelli <ugo@eng.umd.edu> Vern <VernonH@aol.com> Vincenzo "Enzo" Romano <vromano@NYX.cs.du.edu> Mauro Bertolino <mabe@polen1.polito.it> Gianluigi Sartori <gg@angel.stanford.edu> Also, some of the text included was written by Andrea Damini <damini@kfunigraz.ac.at> Augusto Sarti <asarti@milano.berkeley.edu> Alberto Marcone <marcone@dm.unito.it> Andrea e Marco Polci <polci@csr.unibo.it> Carlo A E Rizzo <u9caer@ohm.york.ac.uk> Carlo Biasutto <karl@amleto.ico.olivetti.com> Daniele Pinna <pinna@ghost.sm.dsi.unimi.it> Dario Centofanti <s.pantheon@agora.stm.it> Gian Pier Anselmi <anselmi@cesi.it> Giuseppe Paruolo <paruolo@cineca.it> Kristen Montgomery <montgome@vax.sonoma.edu> Matteo Cardin <felipe@sabrina.dei.unipd.it> Maurizio Pilu Paolo Modesti <paolo@hpvi.gest.unipd.it> Paolo Missier <paolo1@bellcore.com> Paolo Grassi <P.Grassi@agora.stm.it> Paolo Montevecchi <montevec@csr.unibo.it> Rich Wales Michael Khaw <mkhaw@accesscom.com> Roy Sette <kl7@rahul.net> Maurizio Morabito <mmorabito@geocities.com> Rich Wales <richw@webcom.com> Palmer Colamarino <pcolamar@glo.be>